Bien-mis

Bien-Mis {adj} – well dressed (people)

World Cup. No style please we’re English.

leave a comment »


Ah another World Cup. To me this means my Boyfriend will watch football day and night, in the house or at the pub. He will think, talk and live Football. This I have no issue with.  In fact I may even join in and get excited if England get through the first couple of rounds. Or at least it will mean an extra night out down the local or a couple of BBQ’s I can attend.

What I struggle to understand about Football is that our wonderful country seem determined to make ourselves look as ridiculous as possible. We decorate ourselves and our houses with complete……well tat, to be frank. I can’t be the only one who has noticed that countries such as Brazil are fully capable of excelling on the pitch while their fans look like normal sane people. English fans – We walk around with our white beer bellies out,  tuck our manmade fibre replica JD Sports England shirt in our Primark shorts and complete the look with a badly painted face. We put flags on our car and hang them out of our windows, some even paint there houses red and white. While supermarket shelves are bulging with 99p World Cup accessories that you of course need, like that Red and White comedy wig.

Stonewash jeans and blank expression complete the look

I can’t say much more in favour of the ladies either. I’ve seen some truly shocking pictures of girls in cheap red and white bikinis. My only hope is this years WAG efforts have evolved since 2006 and Victoria Beckham’s white shorts and vest combo. And that track suit Alex Curran inflicted on the world.

You may think I’m being a bit of a World Cup bore.  Don’t get me wrong there is nothing wrong with getting in the spirit and supporting your country.  But please, can’t we just do it with a little style?? All the cringing is adding to my wrinkles.

Written by makebakeandsew

June 11, 2010 at 5:02 pm

Leave a comment