Bien-mis

Bien-Mis {adj} – well dressed (people)

Alice in Wonderland: Curious style

leave a comment »


Totally cannot wait for the release of Alice in Wonderland on Friday. The 1951 animated version was my favourite Disney picture as a child.  I would play it on a Sunday afternoon while my mom was in the kitchen baking the cupcakes I’d convinced her that I would make/cook/clean up from. I must have seen it in excess of 50 times.

Looking back I can’t help wondering if there are small influences of Alice’s look in my own wardrobe – classic black ‘Alice’ bands, white tights – well dove grey or cream, Mary Jane shoes.

And I’m not the only one by the looks of things. Disney Couture have released a new Alice jewellery collection which includes quirky pieces by Tom Binns like the ‘Drink Me’ pendant .  Stella McCartney has also created these gorgeous limited edition charm bracelets with Swarovski crystals.

Finally, the beauty industry has not escaped this film’s curious (sorry)  influence either. Urban Decay’s book of shadows is almost a works of art. My money is going on one these Alice sets for Paul & Joe.  Each one includes a Lipstick, Blotting papers and refill all in the cutest of tins…

Disney Couture jewellery available at Zentosa.com & asos.com

Leave a Reply

